Curriculum vitae

Raphael D. Thöne PhD.

Composition with Manfred Trojahn (Düsseldorf) and music theory with Dieter Torkewitz (Essen). Dissertation on Malcolm Arnold’s symphonic music (University of Music and Drama Vienna). Scholarship recipient Berklee College of Music, Boston (USA).

Various works for orchestra and chamber music ensembles (Echoes of Nature Day of Song 2014, music for the SWR radio play  “WIR” 2014 Radiosinfonieorchester Stuttgart, Brass music for the CVJM Westbund und the Strube Verlag Munich 2013/14). Thoenes works as classical arranger and score supervisor for dasDUR (Christian Steinhäuser). Winner of the Deutscher Hörbuchpreis 2016 in the category Best radio play.

Thöne is teaching music theory, ear training, jazz theory and composition at the Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media and is current director of the Institute of Jazz | Rock | Pop at the HMTMH.

The official website of Raphael D. Thöne

Vita

Dr. Raphael D. Thöne

Studium der Komposition (Manfred Trojahn, Düsseldorf) und Musiktheorie (Dieter Torkewitz, Essen) sowie Promotion an der Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst Wien über das symphonische Schaffen Malcolm Arnolds. Stipendiat am Berklee College of Music Boston (USA).

Vielfältige Arbeit als Komponist für Orchester und Kammermusikbesetzungen (Echoes of Nature Day of Song 2014, SWR Hörspielmusik “WIR” 2014 Radiosinfonieorchester Stuttgart, Bläsermusik für den CVJM Westbund und den Strube Verlag München 2013/14)  Arrangeur und Orchestrator für das Berliner Musikproduktionsnetzwerk dasDUR (u.a. Tag der deutschen Einheit 2014, Clusters of Lights – The birth of the prophet, Sharjah, VAE 2014, ZDF Mauerfall 2009) .

Thöne lehrt die Fächer Musiktheorie, Gehörbildung, Jazztheorie und Komposition an der Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover und ist derzeitiger Sprecher des Instituts für Jazz | Rock | Pop der HMTMH).

Die offizielle Seite des Komponisten, Arrangeurs und Dirigenten Raphael D. Thöne